Best of UBC TSC 2016-2017 | Year End Awards Night


On Wednesday April 5th, UBC Thunderbirds Sport Clubs held the second annual “Best of UBC TSC” Year End Awards Banquet. With over 200 in attendance, we celebrated the sporting achievements, commitment and leadership of our Student Athletes. Held for the first time in two of the Student Recreation Centre gymnasiums, the ceremony consisted of a buffet-style dinner and an awards presentation. TSC’s four big awards were presented, including the inaugural TSC Athlete of the Year Award, as well as a sportsmanship award for one member of each Club. The 2016-2017 recipients of each award are as follows:


TSC Team of the Year:

UBC Thunderbirds Sailing Sport Club


TSC Executives of the Year Award:

Dragon Boat Executives


TSC Student Leadership Award:

Male Recipient: Mitchell Kitt (Lacrosse)

Female Recipients: Ashley Belle-Burns (Sailing) and Jessica Silva (Women’s Tennis)


TSC Athlete of the Year:

Male Recipient: Johannes Kite-Powell (Sailing)

Female Recipient: Ellen Au-Yeung (Women’s Ultimate)


TSC Athlete Council Sportsmanship Award Recipients:

Katherine McGuire – Women’s Ultimate

Connor Khademazad – Men’s Tennis

Lauren Hale – Alpine Ski

Kelsi Jessamine – Equestrian

Amy Cheng – Dragon Boat

Nora Apelgren – Nordic Ski

James Baylis – Water Polo

Julie Velasquez – Quidditch

Patrick Mavety – Men’s Ultimate

Stephanie Stearman – Sailing

Helena Son – Women’s Tennis

Katrina Waldhauser – Cycling

Spencer Schoen – Lacrosse

Shannon Pfleuger – Synchronized Swimming


A big thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate TSC’s 2016-2017 season, and we are looking forward to seeing you all next year.