Move U Crew 2018-2019

The Move U Crew is part of a UBC initiative that started in 2017, committed to enhancing accessible physical activity opportunities across campus. Some of our activities include leading guided walks and delivering movement breaks in classrooms, conferences, and meetings, as well as hosting physical activity events. Our goal is to engage students, staff and faculty in reducing sedentary behavior as well as increasing overall wellbeing at UBC.

Meet The Team

Sara Cathcart

Year: 3 / Major: Kinesiology

Aspirations after grad: To work in Sport Business (Sports Marketer or Physiologist)

Favorite Food? This one is always so tough! Sweet = Definitely Ice Cream / Savoury = Dim Sum or Sushi (I can’t choose)

Favorite sport? To play = Track and Field, To watch = Hockey

Favorite place on campus? Pacific Spirit Running Trails

Pet peeves? When people touch my pillow or wear full length jeans with flip flops

 

Mona Adib

Year: 3 / Major: Pharmacology

Aspirations after grad: To be the coolest, hippest dentist on the block

Favorite Food? I love home-cooked Persian meals, beets and chocolate croissants

Favorite Sport? I’m trying to become a decent ping pong player (but it’s not really working). I also love jogging and playing tag!

Favorite place on campus? In front of the fire at Mercante

Pet peeves? People who stand on the left side of the escalator. Grrrr!

 

Amber Guo

Year: 3 / Major: Asian studies

Aspirations after grad: Grad school or travelling while working and volunteering

Favorite Food? Mac and Cheese, or any cheese dish

Favorite Sport? I like to watch gymnastics and volleyball. I’m trying to be a faster swimmer. I’m also hoping to buy a really nice skateboard that I can cruise on

Favorite place on campus? The Koerner Library for studying, the Nitobe Memorial garden for walking in nature

Pet peeves? Taking screenshots for anything I find interesting. I never look at the pictures again and don’t really want to delete them either (they take up so much storage on my phone!)

 

 

Maria Alaia

Year: 2 / Major: Sociology with a Minor in Law & Society

Aspirations after grad: Thinking of law school… and one day, to travel the world!

Favorite Food? My mom’s homemade minestrina on sick days

Favorite Sport? I like watching figure skating, I want to try horseback riding one day, and I recently started dragonboating this year!

Favorite place on campus? Those hammocks at MOA

Pet peeves? When people don’t move to the back of the bus and then the bus looks full but it’s really not and the bus driver skips your stop because they think it’s too full :’(

 

Yang Xia

Year: 1 of a second undergraduate degree / Major: Computer Science

Aspirations after grad: becoming a computational biologist in the field of cancer genomics

Favorite Food? Hot and sour soup

Favorite Sport? Playing badminton and ping pong, watching diving and figure skating

Favorite place on campus? The Rose Garden and the Main Fountain

Pet peeves? My iPhone apps need to be organized and placed within distinct categories from the 2nd page onward, and so every new app I download has to be placed into some folder

 

 

Kero Daowd

Year: 5 / Major: Kin

Aspirations after grad: to pursue a Masters in Public Health and then go into Policing (I know, it doesn’t make sense but oh well)!

Favorite Food? My favorite food by far is Japanese food. I love sushi, teriyaki, any sort of bowls and every type of seafood that exists

Favorite Sport? My favorite sport to play is ice hockey and it just so happens to be my favorite to watch too! I love the fast-pace energy that hockey provides

Favorite place on campus? You can always find me wandering about in the Rose Garden, or in the forest behind MOA in my free time – these are places I visit regularly to de-stress and just enjoy my surroundings

Pet peeves? Individuals who vigorously shake their legs while sitting because it sends a vibration through the whole row of tables and chairs. I also am annoyed by people who come up with a million excuses not to do something – just do it!

 

Lyz Gilgunn

Manager

What was your major and what aspirations do you have for the future?

I completed my BA in Recreation and Health Education at University of Victoria, and currently completing my Master of Public Health through University of Alberta (distance). When I grow up I want to be the Manager of Physical Activity at UBC Recreation. Or a dancer.

Favorite Food? Tacos and chocolate cake (separately)

Favorite sport? Soccer

Favorite place on campus? Pacific Spirit Park

Pet peeves? Food waste. I will find a way to eat everything!