Swimmers Recognized at UBC’s Big Block Awards

Swimmers were among those honoured during the UBC Varsity Big Block Awards Banquet hosted at the Vancouver Convention Centre, Tuesday April 2.

Since March of 1921, UBC student athletes and supporters have been gathering at the Big Block Banquet to welcome the newest members into the Block Club and to celebrate the success of the a season gone by.  The Big Block Banquet is a night that honours the amazing achievements of student athletes whether on the field of play, in the team room or the classroom. From individual honours, to team achievements, the Big Block Banquet brings together past UBC Thunderbird greats with the stars of today and tomorrow. This is the best of the best.

Congratulations to the following members of the UBC Varsity Swimming Programs recognized:

  • Marilyn Pomfret Trophy (Outstanding female athlete of the year) : Emily Overholt and Kiera Van Ryk (Volleyball).
  • Bus Phillips Memorial Trophy (Outstanding male athlete of the year) : Markus Thormeyer.
  • May Brown Trophy (Outstanding graduating female athlete of the year) :  Maia Brundage.

Also included among the nominees were Alex Pratt for Thunderbird male rookie of the year and both the Women’s Varsity Swimming Team and the Men’s Varsity Swimming Team for the the Du Vivier Team of the Year.

We congratulate and thank the swimmers along with their coaches for inspiring us with that they do in the water and in our community.

Many of the swimmers are in Toronto this week (April 3- 7) for the Swimming Canada’s 2019 Canadian Swimming Trials as this competition will serve as the nomination or selection Trials for the 2019 FINA World Championships, 2019 FINA World Junior Championships, 2019 Pan American Games, 2019 Para Pan American Games, 2019 World Para Swimming Championships, and the 2019 FISU (World University) Games.